What to Read Next

Your Next Good Book
What personal help finding a book? Fill out this form and HPL librarians will suggest some books and authors for you.

Book Reviews

  • The Millions Presents 10 book titles that have been reviewed at The Millions Blog, click on a title to read a review or click refresh to see 10 more books.
  • BookBrowse.com Bookbrowse carefully selects from the most interesting current books and provides you with multiple reviews and a substantial excerpt of each. Some content is available for free, others with your HPL library card.
  • Book Lust Forever Nancy Pearl's book review blog

 

Book Community Sites

Book Suggestion Sites

  • Gnooks offers several literature-related things, as well as a forum, and a book recommender, called Gnod's Suggestions. (LII)
  • IRead Wiki, Iowa librarians' Readers' Advisory wiki
  • Reader's Almanac From Library of America, offers a daily update, complete with links to special stories recently featured in their critical print editions, along with video features, interviews, and rare items of interest.
  • Reading the Past A blog for historical novels
  • What Should I Read Next Enter a book you like and the site will analyse our database of real readers' favourite books (over 32,000 and growing) to suggest what you could read next.
  • Your Next Read suggests books based on what you have already read.

 

Book Search Sites

  • All Readers A book search engine
  • Fiction Finder Search by place, character, categories, etc. From OCLC.
  • Free ISBN search search for books by their isbn.
  • ISBN Database a database of books in different languages providing on-line and remote research tools for individuals, librarians, scientists, etc. Taking data from hundreds of libraries across the world ISBNdb is a unique tool you won't find anywhere else.
  • Lost Titles, Forgotten Rhymes: How to Find a Novel, Short Story, or Poem Without Knowing its Title or Author What if you wanted to locate Robert Burton's masterful 17th century opus, The Anatomy of Melancholy? But wait: You can't remember his name or the name of the book. That's where you should know to click on over to this delightful and helpful reference guide created by Peter Armenti, Digital Reference Specialist at the Library of Congress. The intent of this guide is to help readers identify a literary work when they know only its plot or subject, or other textual information such as a character's name, a line of poetry, or a unique word or phrase. The guide is divided into three separate sections: Finding Novels, Finding Short Stories, and Finding Poems. Each section offers a host of resources that include general search engines, online book databases, library catalogs, listservs, message boards, and physical print resources available in many public libraries. This guide is rounded out by a selection of related resources, including a primer on how to find poems in the Library of Congress.
  • Series and Sequels database provided by the Los Angeles Public Library.
  • Titles from Shakespeare Type in the name of a Shakespeare play and find all the other works that have been based on it with their author and the full quotation from which a title was derived.
  • What's Next? search for the next book in a series of adult fiction. From Kent District Library.
  • Whichbook.net Wondering what to read next? This site may help by narrowing down what you are looking for in a book.

 

Connect with us --  facebook flickr google plus linkedin pinterest tumblr twitter youtube -- 316 W Webster Ave. -- Muskegon, MI, 49440 -- 231-722-8000